6 Steps to Write and Publish eBooks Like a Professional

Books are for exchanging stories and different types of knowledge. If you’re a professional trying to make an impression, putting your expertise on paper, whether real or digital, is a great move.

Since it’s easier and cheaper to publish ebooks, let’s look at how to produce one that turns heads and reflects your business in a positive way. Take the time to think about what you want to share and how.

Why publishing a professional ebook is a good idea

First, producing an ebook for your business gives you a marketing tool that you can share across multiple platforms. The higher its quality, the more it can benefit you. If you have a website and social media profiles, for example, posting your ebook boosts your public image and provides an easy way for people to get to know you.

Related: Things You Should Never Post on LinkedIn

Second, an ebook is a perfect place to collect your thoughts. You can put them in order, explore them further, and welcome others into your professional mindset.

Finally, it’s a worthwhile project that teaches patience, discipline, self-awareness, attention to detail, and more. Overall, publishing an ebook rewards you personally and professionally.

How to Produce and Publish a Successful Ebook as a Professional

Professional ebooks are not fiction. Everything from their content to their design is designed to attract and inspire specific consumers, which requires careful planning. Even the type of non-fiction you choose to write affects your success.

USE VIDEO OF THE DAY

1. Make sure your ebook content is worth reading

Don’t stuff your book with fluff and only publish it to have something to offer customers. It should be interesting and well done to make the best possible impression.

Start by deciding what wisdom your book should share. For example, if you’re a video game developer, you can write about the programming languages ​​you use or your personal journey in this tough industry.

Channel your experiences, as well as your communication skills, to produce an ebook that is easy and mind-blowing to read.

2. Plan the structure of your ebook to reflect your skills and reliability

One of the most important elements of a book is structure. You need to pay attention to this as well as your grammar and spelling, especially if you plan to sell your ebooks online.

Look at it this way: the whole point of publishing an ebook for your business is to convey in one place that you can do a project with flying colors and teach people a thing or two about your area of ​​expertise.


Ebook on tablet next to laptop and cup

If, on the other hand, a customer scours the pages to find their fonts, headers, and ideas everywhere, they won’t be impressed. On the contrary, it makes you look sloppy and unprofessional.

Put your thoughts into a meticulous outline before you write anything down. Also, do not publish your ebook without proofreading it a dozen times and without having formatted it by a professional.

3. Edit and design your ebook to perfection

Your entire ebook should be transparent. To achieve this, read it again and again, each passage focusing on a specific concern. Is the syntax correct and the terminology consistent? Do your ideas make sense? Does everything read well? Get comments and edit others before posting.

Related: Accessible Writing Tips for the Office

Put in the extra effort to get the cover and interior right. In addition to affecting your public image, the appearance of your book determines whether strangers will pick it up.

Again, it’s a good idea to turn to professionals like the best eBook cover design services. Also look for reliable publishers with experience in your field. Another pair of experienced eyes will always catch the mistakes you missed.

4. Publish through the best platforms

Feel free to publish your ebook in the traditional way. You may need a literary agent to approach high-end publishers, but if that doesn’t work out, other companies like Oneworld sometimes accept unsolicited manuscripts.

Then there’s the self-publishing route, which gives you more control over your book, but less support to get it all done. When it comes to publishing your business ebook, its reach, visibility, and freedom to promote depends on the publishing platform you choose.


Lulu ebook self-publishing service

Explore in detail what the best self-publishing platforms have to offer, such as:

  • Lulu
  • Kindle Direct Publishing
  • Presentation
  • Xlibris
  • Kobo writes life
  • BookBaby

5. Use professional marketing tactics

How you promote your ebook also affects its reception. Its themes being related to business, consider focusing your marketing strategy on relevant media and methods.

In addition to making the most of your self-publishing service’s marketing tools, for example, approach companies and websites in the same field as you to gather endorsements and do interviews about your book.

Also post links on your own site and on social media. Interact with people and spread the word. Be careful when using these platforms, however.

Related: How to Set Up a Business Twitter Account

Even if you use Instagram more than LinkedIn, your posts, language, and general attitude shouldn’t be too flippant. Say or share the wrong thing, and you can lose customers in an instant.

6. Choose a smart selling strategy

Finally, ask yourself if you want to sell your ebook, give it away for free, or both. The last option is the best because you profit from the project while promoting your business with free copies.

Strike a balance by deciding when and where your book will be available for free. Apart from holidays and birthdays, you can gift it as part of packages. Be sure to clearly display these opportunities on your platforms.


Online payment on the eCommerce site

When it comes to sales, different self-publishing platforms offer different royalties. Choose the one with the best prices, but also check that you can sell your ebook yourself, either in person or through your website.

In this case, you should also look for software for your domain, such as WooCommerce plugins for your business e-commerce needs.

A solid company can create a solid ebook

Mastering the art of building a successful business and producing an ebook should be a piece of cake. Indeed, the two projects are similar in that they have multiple components and require a lot of effort to run smoothly. Their rewards, however, are more than worthwhile.

So, aim for the highest possible standards when planning your finances, designing your website, building your network, and more. This passion and attention to detail will naturally filter into publishing a high quality ebook as a professional.


Steps to Create a Great Website
7 Key Steps to Creating a Great Website

Are you looking to develop a site with a “wow” factor? Here are the key things to know.

Read more


About the Author

Scott R. Banks